Nangarhar Communities

The CASA-1000 transmission line enters Nangarhar after passing through Laghman province.

Nangarhar is one of the eastern provinces of Afghanistan, which has border with Pakistan. Nangarhar province has 22 districts.

CASA-1000 line passes through seven districts of Nangarhar province such as Surkhrod,  Behsod, Khewa, Kama, Goshta, Lalpur and Muhmand Dara. The mentioned districts are those districts that are located in the CASA-1000-line route in Nangarhar province. Nangarhar is the last province that the CASA-1000 line going through in Afghanistan, after that the CASA-1000 line enters to Pakistan.

In Nangarhar province, 116 Community Development Councils (CDCs) have been verified through the Community Support Program (CSP) under the umbrella of the Citizens’ Charter National Priority Program (CCNPP) of the Ministry of Rural Rehabilitation and Development. It’s worth mentioning that in 26 CDCs (out of 116 CDCs) located in Surkhrod and Behsod districts the community support program will launch only social mobilization and awareness session campaign for CASA-1000. The Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG) will implement development projects in the mentioned two districts.

The CDCs under CASA-CSP are working to assess the required and needful projects of the villages in consultation with the people and after that the required projects will be implemented through CASA-CSP program.